AO North America

AOTrauma North America at the 2016 Orthopaedic Trauma Association Meeting

AOTrauma North America (AOTNA) recently exhibited at the 2016 Annual Orthopaedic Trauma Association meeting on October 5-8, 2016 in National Harbor, Maryland. Staff members from AO North America spread the AOTNA vision and mission at the booth in the exhibit hall.

AOTNA welcomed over 250 surgeons to our reception at the meeting.

Prior, AOTNA hosted a reception for orthopedic trauma fellows. More than 50 fellows attended, which was specifically designed for trauma fellows, past trauma fellows and residents interviewing for fellowship positions to connect with one another and leading AOTrauma North America faculty. At this networking event, fellows heard about the education, research and fellowship opportunities offered by AOTrauma North America and exchanged ideas with peers. In addition to opening remarks by Dr. Jason Nascone, Chairperson of the Fellowship Committee, the winners of the 2015 Jack McDaniel and John Border International fellowship awards, Dr. Patrick Schottel and Dr. John Tidwell, were invited to say a few words about their fellowship experiences. These receptions were well-received by our guests and highly successful in meeting our outlined goals: giving AOTrauma members’ network opportunities with leading trauma surgeons, highlighting AOTrauma North America's presence as a leading, independent non-profit professional society, strengthening current relationships, extending our AOTrauma North America brand presence to over 1,594 musculoskeletal trauma surgeons, and promoting education, research, and fellowship opportunities.

Other notable events at OTA

On Thursday, October 6, the OTA bestowed an Honorary Membership upon Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Stephan M. Perren. Prof. Perren is a former Director of the AO Research Institute and a pillar of the AO Foundation. In addition to Prof. Perren's role as an AO Founder, he chaired the AO Technical Commission and the AO Development Steering Committee for 16 years and for 28 years was the Director of the AO Research Institute Davos. Prof. Perren's other professional duties also include his work as a medical doctor and an Honorary Professor at the Universities of Bern, Montevideo and Aberysthwyth. In addition, he was also co-founder of the European Society of Biomechanics and International Society for Fracture Repair.

On Friday, October 7, Keith A. Mayo, MD, the Medical Director at the Hansjörg Wyss Hip & Pelvis Center in Seattle, Washington, and a founding member of AO North America, delivered the John Border, MD Memorial Lecture. Dr. Mayo has gained worldwide respect and recognition for his work in orthopedic trauma surgery, and especially in disorders of the hip and pelvis. This lectureship was established to honor the memory of Dr. John Border. Dr. Border was instrumental in the development of modern trauma care and, in particular, modern orthopedic trauma care. AOTrauma North America also offers a prestigious fellowship in honor of Dr. Border. The John Border Fellowship is an annual fellowship available to fully trained orthopedic and general surgeons interested in trauma.

We look forward to next year’s OTA meeting, October 11-14, 2017 in Vancouver, Canada.

AO North America, 1700 Russell Road, Paoli, PA 19301